Programing language wishlist

My previous blog post was about garbage collection being anti-productive. Its my strong opinion that with respect to resource management, Java has got it completely wrong, C++ got it completely right, and languages with deterministic memory management (reference counting) like cPython come in as a good second to C++. I have to litle knowledge of C# to truly judge the productivity and scalability properties of its hybrid resource management model that at first glance seems to be a quite a bit better than Java Basically. I would say (taking into respect what I heard and read about C#) with respect to resource management:

  • +2 for C++
  • +1 for python
  • +/- for C#
  • -2 for Java

But I will be the first to admit that Java,  and especially its more secure little brother Joe-E, has many merits on other fronts, while C++ definitely has its weaknesses. Looking at the wide range of programing languages available, and looking at their features and miss-features,  there doesn’t seem to be a single language that doesn’t have at least one ingredient that is incompatible with my personal taste. This made me think that if I could order a programing language the way I can order a pizza: Tuna pizza,  double garlic, pickled green peppers , hold the onions.  What toping would I choose for my programming language? Its likely that my taste in programing language is just as disgusting to you as my taste  in pizza is to many of my friends 😉 My priorities basically are scalable high productivity and high integrity, if you have other priorities, your pizza will likely get quite a different combination of toppings.

Perl’s expressiveness and built-in regular expression support.

While I try to not use Perl anymore, I started my career as a Unix system administrator doing a lot of Perl, and have done many smaller and mid sized projects in Perl. While I’m no longer the big Perl fan I used to be, Perl expressiveness  keeps pulling me back to Perl if I need to build something small in a hurry. No language beats Perl with respect to how little code or how little time it takes to build something when in a hurry. Combined with the built-in regex support that is really integrated well in the language, this is a toping I would love to have onh my programing language pizza.

C++ its full encapsulation of resources, add some automated  resource management.

As I showed in my previous blog post on resource management, C++ RAII allows resources to be fully encapsulated without braking encapsulation or burdening polymorphism. This property in C++ comes at the price of not having automated memory management. I’d like to have my cake and eat it to here. C++ its full encapsulation of resources, but with some more syntactic sugar for RAII to further boost productivity.

C++ its generics and TMP support

Nothing boosts productivity like being smart about the  ‘Dont Repeat Yourself’ or DRY principle. Nothing spells DRY like C++ generics and template meta programing in C++.

C++/Python’s operator overloading

While operator overloading to many is just syntactic sugar, it to me is more like syntactic honey, making things do down much smoother in many cases.  Function objects (objects overloading the ‘()’ operator) are a great alternative to old-fashioned C callback functions.   In C++ cast operators can safe you much work when refactoring. Operator overloading on their own will boost your productivity, but when combined with generics this boost is multiplied.

Pythons Strong, Safe but property based type system.

Strong and safe type systems are great, but sometimes they get in your way. In python a strong and safe type system is combined with property based compatibility.

Message passing concurrency only, safe the raw threads.

Where shared mutable state can get you into trouble, you haven’t seen any real trouble until you have tried doing large scale development with raw threads. Raw threads give you shared state concurrency with all the troubles that sharing state brings with it. These problems can really kill your productivity and create hard to track down bugs. Message passing concurrency gives a less problematic alternative.  I would like my ideal language not to supply me with raw threads, but hide these (and lock free containers) these behind an abstraction layer that  provides message passing concurrency instead.

No class variable support.

As with shared state concurrency, class variables are shared essentially shared mutable state and shared mutable state is something that can be tricky to work with. There are a few basic rules for working with shared mutable state that come from object capability theory and from basics about testability of code. In essence class variables are not compatible with these rules.

No pointer arithmetic support

This for me is the thing I dislike most about C++. Pointer arithmetic will get you into trouble. Its a tempting thing to use in C++, and thats why I don’t want it in my ideal language.  Its like one of those fattening ingredients on your pizza that you know is bad for you, but you have a graving for it so you take it.

No reflection or typeof

Reflection and typeof will let you get away with bad design, it will let you be more productive for the short haul, but bad design will in the end make you regret you took a shortcut and will make you pay for taking the shortcut many times over.

Fully ocap with persistent object support

The E-language, a language that I have used for smaller personal projects (Its quite impossible to convince my co-workers about this great but exotic language is worth investing serious time in), combines being fully OCAP (a sane subset of OO for building high integrity systems) and has support for persistent applications that survive system reboots without loosing state. The E-Language is fully compatible with my MinorFs project and allows for fitting least authority design into a multi granularity system design from the OS level up.  My Ideal language would take quite a few things from E. Its an amazing litle language that has gotten way to little press.

Co-worker compatible

A language could have all the ingredients above, a real project requires multiple people working on it. This means that the ideal language, other than E should be compatible with the often conservative views of co-workers with respect to investing in new technology.  The ideal language should be similar enough to languages my co-workers know (Java,C++,Python,C#,Delphi,Perl) to be acceptable to the conservative mind.

The above list to a point is just personal taste, but I believe its most about personal taste in priorities that for me are productivity and high integrity. My ideal language would allow me and my co-workers to write large scale high integrity systems with the highest possible productivity.

Leave a Reply

